Membership Renewal for 2020

15 Dec

Hello fellow Amateur Radio Operators, Season Greetings. Hope you have had great 2019 and are looking forward to 2020.  It is now time to renew your Westcoast Amateur Radio Association Membership for the coming year (Jan 1, 2020- Dec 31, 2020).

Memberships can easily be renewed online on the WARA web site using PayPal. Look for the Membership and Payment info on the right-hand side of this home page. A PayPal account is not necessary; one can still pay via PayPal using a credit card. Please include your call sign as a note in the PayPal form.  If you are not renewing online, please send your $40.00 cheque (Individual Membership) or $55.00 cheque (Family Membership) to the address below. You can also renew at the next WARA meeting with cheque or cash.  Should you pay by cheque or cash please provide a note with your call sign, full name, email address and postal address.

You will receive an email confirmation of your renewal once processed. WARA’s website is actively maintained and contains a wealth of information for the ham community, including current news and upcoming events.  Thanks for checking it out!  

Westcoast Amateur Radio Association, PO Box 48047 Victoria, B.C. V8Z 7H5

ERTEX2019 Debrief – Guest Speakers for General Meeting Tuesday Nov. 19

15 Nov

Glenn Lindsay and Neil Townsend will give a debrief and Q & A at the Tuesday Nov. 19 WARA General Meeting regarding the recent emergency radio exercise ERTEX2019. This was a unique exercise that was structured to give WARA the opportunity to formally participate in a regional emergency communications exercise involving EMBC and several local authority emergency program radio teams, their Emergency Coordinators and other EOC staff and volunteers.

AGM 2019 Board of Directors

16 Oct

The annual general meeting of WARA was held on Tuesday October 15, 2019 at Red Cross House, Victoria. Results of elections for Board of Directors:

# Position Name Portfolio Term End
1 President Brent Besse VA7BNB 2020
2 Vice President Jon Jacox VA7WPT 2021
3 Secretary Dylan Dawson VA7BAE Privacy Officer 2021
4 Treasurer Brian SummersVE7JKZ 2021
5 Past President Al Muir VE7BEU Tech 2020
6 Director-at-Large Frank Andersen VE7GCO Field Day 2021
7 Director-at-Large David Black VA7LFT Membership 2020
8 Director-at-Large Chris Munz-Michielin VA7ALB Emergency Comms 2021 
9 Director-at-Large John Nemeth VAJMN 2020
10 Director-at-Large Baljit Atlas VA7BSS 2021
11 Director-at-Large Trevor Peirce VE7TAV Public Service Coord 2021
12 Director-at-Large Alan Mallett VA7AWM Examiner 2021